menu graphic

"[Meant to Be is] a blend of songs by such contemporary songwriters as Michael Franks, Van Morrison, and Donald Fagan of Steely Dan with jazz songs by Kenny Burell and Horace Silver."
-The Winston-Salem Journal

1. I Could Write a Book
2. Moondance (MP3)
3. Chitlins Con Carne (MP3)
4. A Ghost of a Chance (MP3)
5. Twisted (MP3)
6. Liberated Brother (MP3)
7. Stolen Moments
8. Puzzle of Hearts
9. Lullaby of Birdland
10. Everytime He Whispers
11. Walk Between the Raindrops
12. Peace Chant
13. Black Orpheus Medley - A Day in the Life of a Fool / Samba de Orfeu

Photography credit: Susan VonCannon

Need to pay by check? Go here for a pdf of the order form.
Go here to download Acrobat Reader.

New! Also available at!

"A real winner!"
-Allison King of Go Triad

"Lullaby of Birdland deftly shows off Morie's jazz timing (and a sweet scatted ending) as well as some terrific piano work by Ken Rhodes."
-Allison King of Go Triad

Meant to Be, Brenda's solo CD, features the supporting performances of friends, old and new, from her days in Los Angeles coupled with the some of NC's best. Among these are Los Angeles's drummer and recording artist, Chet McCracken and lead guitarist, Chris Pinnick, formerly of Chicago as well as Herb Alpert and John Klemmer. North Carolina's well-known and respected The Ken Rhodes Trio consisting of keyboardist Ken Rhodes, bassist Matt Kendrick, and drummer John Wilson bring their smooth warmth to the project as well as Rhodes' compositional skill with Peace Chant. Jazz trumpeter, Joe Robinson is featured on Stolen Moments and Ghost of a Chance. His bittersweet performance on Ghost of a Chance brings a rich flavor to Brenda's own interpretation, making it one of the highlights on the CD. Brazilian guitarist, Paulo Barata, contributes to Brenda's version of Djavan's Puzzle of Hearts along with Chris Pinnick's lead guitar and McCracken's drumming. Also contributing are conga percussionist Roberto Orihuela, and film composer David McHugh (Mystic Pizza & Moscow On The Hudson). Brenda's "lead guitar-like" flute performance on Liberated Brother and Chitlins Con Carne, shows the influence of her work with Garrett and Nancy Sinatra.

The CD was recorded and produced by NC School of the Arts instructorJohn Sisti, whose recent credits include Sound Supervisor on Mad About You which won two Emmys for Best Sound, and Bram Stocker's Dracula which won an Oscar for Best Sound Mixing and Best Sound Editing. Before his film work, Sisti was a recording engineer at several studios such as A&M Records and Record Plant with artist Joni Mitchell, George Harrison, Captain & Tennille (Love Can Keep Us Together), and Billy Preston (Nothing from Nothing). John taught sound and production at Berkley School of Music in the mid 80's, and now as well as teaching at in the Film School has a small studio here, Granite Sound. At Granite Sound John has mixed David McHugh's score for the Lifetime Series Strong Medicine and the soundtrack for the Gary Hawkin's award-winning documentary The Rough South of Larry Brown.

Brenda Morie, Jazz Musician
Copyright 2003 Brenda Morie; All rights reserved.
No portion of this page may be reproduced by any means without expressed written consent of
Brenda Morie unless explicit permission is granted within the text of the page.
Site designed and implemented by rhidesign using HTML.